Tēnā koutou katoa, Greetings to you all.

It is our privilege to invite you to attend the 2020 Combined Scientific Congress (CSC) of the New Zealand Society of Anaesthetists (NZSA) and the Australian Society of Anaesthetists (ASA) which will be held in Wellington, New Zealand October 16-19, 2020.

This Congress is a unique occasion held every five years when the NZSA and ASA join together to hold a single scientific meeting.

We are delighted to announce our international keynote speakers will be Professor P.J. Devereaux Director of Cardiology and Scientific Leader of the Anesthesiology, Perioperative Medicine and Surgery Research Group at McMaster University, Canada, Professor Denny Levett clinical lead for perioperative medicine and the surgical high dependency unit at Southampton University Hospital NHS Foundation Trust UK, and Professor Steve Shafer former editor in chief of Anesthesiology and Analgesia and Professor of Anesthesiology at Stanford University School of Medicine, California, USA.  In addition to these speakers there will be a number of well known Australasian experts who will contribute to what will be an informative and challenging Scientific Program.

There will be a wide range of workshops and small discussion groups for updates in all aspects of anaesthesia practice and will qualify for Continuing Professional Development programs.

The Social Program, featuring the Gala Dinner and Family Night, will showcase the best of Wellington entertainment and hospitality.

Wellington is our home which is constantly changing and evolving with different activities and events. The World of Wearable Art is held at this time of year and will finish in the week leading up to the Congress.  The meeting will be held on the Wellington Waterfront in central Wellington providing immediate access to the harbourside known for its restaurants, bars and recreational activities.

We look forward to welcoming you to the 2020 Combined Scientific Congress.

Ngā mihi nui

Mark Featherston and Sheila Hart


CSC 2020 Committee

Sheila Hart 
Co-Convenor    Chris Horrocks   Industry Liasion  
Mark Featherson   Co-Convenor   Aruntha Moorthy   Social Co-Coordinator  
James Moore   Sci. Program Co-Convenor   Kirsten Cunningham   Social Co-Coordinator  
Nick Rogers   Sci. Program Co-Convenor   Sandy Baigent   Social Co-Coordinator  
Neroli Chadderton   Workshop/SGD Co-Coordinator   Kirsty Jordan   Social Co-Coordinator  
Phil Quinn   Workshop/SGD Co-Coordinator   David Elliott
  ASA Federal NSC Officer
Sarah Jackson   Workshop/SGD Co-Coordinator   Denyse Robertson   ASA Senior Events Officer  
Cathy Caldwell   Treasurer      



Conference Innovators

P: 64 4 894 3939
E: Raewyn@conference.nz

  • 00


  • 00


  • 00


  • 00